Beginner question

Forums Wersi Products Beginner question

Tagged: ,

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Nan
    Participant
    @nanm

Not sure if this is a dumb question, but you can let me know. I have inherited two Wersi organs. One is bigger and has significantly more features than the other. These are older instruments and likely not worth much, so I have decided to learn to play. Keyboards were not my thing as a kid, I can plunk on the piano, but I played clarinet. So, total newb here. My question is this – which would be the better organ to learn on; the smaller, simpler one, or jump right into all the bells and whistles? Or perhaps it doesn’t matter?

Curt
    Keymaster
    @immusiccm

Hi Nan,

First, welcome to the group! Can you tell us which models you have? Since you are new to them, you may not know, but do all the various features work on both models?

Assuming they are both fully (or at least equally functional), I would go with the bigger instrument. Don’t let the “more features” concern you for now. You can explore those later as you get more comfortable with the instrument.

BGJay
    Participant
    @bgjay

Perhaps a photograph of the 2 instruments would help…

I agree with Curt – I too would go for the bigger instrument. You can always grow into bigger shoes, whereas smaller ones start to hurt once you grow a bit.

Barry

Nan
    Participant
    @nanm

I have no idea what models they are, but here are pics of the two organs.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Nan
    Participant
    @nanm

Looks like only one pic came through. Trying again with the other.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Bill
    Participant
    @abacus

HI Nan

They are both the same organ (Part of the CD line from the late 80s) with the only difference being the size of keyboards and pedals, so just use the one that you feel most happy with.